What are the 7 main chakras?

by Veronica Molinski

The root chakra is the first chakra in the body and is located at the base of the spine. The 7 main chakras are the root, sacrum, solar plexus, heart, throat, forehead and crown. Keep reading to learn the colors associated with each chakra and the purposes they serve. Aligned along the axis of the spine we have the 7 main chakras.

Chakras can be blocked by stress, negative thoughts, diet, and lack of exercise. The good news is that you can easily unlock your chakras by implementing some changes in your life. This will dramatically improve your emotional and physical well-being. The seven chakras are the root chakra, the sacral chakra, the solar plexus chakra, the heart chakra, the throat chakra, the third eye chakra and the crown chakra.

We'll explore chakras in more depth, as well as tips on how to align them in the following articles. As part of our mind-body yoga and wellness series, we're talking about chakras. This post is an overview of the 7 chakras and their meanings, locations, chakra colors, healing and a practical chakra chart. Although some yogic texts say that there are 88,000 chakras, there are 7 main chakras that are normally referred to.

These seven energy centers extend along the spine from the top of the head (crown chakra) to the tail bone (root chakra). As the name (wheel) suggests, chakras are thought to be spinning wheels of energy. Each of the 7 chakras has its own symbol (a lotus meal with different numbers of petals) and the associated color, the gemstone and more. Chakras can be thought of as portals through which energy is exchanged between the physical body and the universe.

By bridging the gap between physical and spiritual, understanding the 7 chakras can help with healing and growth. This concept is an integral part of yoga, and the two have always been intertwined. The 7 chakras are represented by the colors and locations of the chakras in the body. In addition, there are crystals or stones and essential oils that can help in the healing of each chakra.

The word Chakra, also spelled Cakra, means “wheel” in Sanskrit and refers to the main energy points of the body. In the absence of fear of death, one becomes one's own master and remains free from all attachment to material things. There are seven main chakras, which line the spine, from the base of the spine to the crown of the spine. In this beginner's guide, we'll summarize the defining characteristics of the seven major chakras, explain how to tell if any of them are locked, and share how to unlock each of them from root to crown using mantras, yoga postures, and more.

Each of these seven major chakras has a number, name, color, specific area of the spine from the sacrum to the crown of the head, and a corresponding health focus. It rotates to distribute some energy, but knowing more about it is beyond the reach of human imagination. There are 7 major and larger chakras that lie along the spine (not actually in the spine). There are seven main chakras located along the spine, from the base of the spine to the crown of the spine.